Sauter, Crafton Could Shine Saturday In Martinsville

Up next for the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Playoffs is Martinsville Speedway, a track at which veterans Johnny Sauter and Matt Crafton shine. Sauter has won at Martinsville three-times in his career and has eight top fives and 11 top 10s in 21 starts. Crafton has made 33 starts at Martinsville, the most of any driver, posting two wins, nine top fives and 19 top 10s. Noah Gragson’s first NASCAR Camping World Truck Series win was at this race in 2017, his second appearance in the series at the track. At the time Gragson was not in the Playoffs.

Currently, Sauter is the winningest active driver at Martinsville, but if Crafton can pull off a win next weekend, he will tie him on that list.

Gragson has the opportunity to not only secure his spot in the next round of the Playoffs but to also put his name on the list of multi-race winners at Martinsville.

John Hunter Nemechek, although not a Playoff driver, also has that same chance if he is entered to run next weekend. Nemechek won at Martinsville Speedway earlier this season. Dennis Setzer is the only driver to have ever won back-to-back races.

There are seven multi-race winners at the track in NASCAR Camping World Truck Series history (Kevin Harvick, Sauter, Setzer, Mike Skinner, Crafton, Denny Hamlin and Bubba Wallace).

Harvick, Sauter, Setzer and Skinner all have three wins and Crafton, Hamlin and Wallace each have two.

Last year, a Playoff driver won four of the seven Playoff races. The other three races were won by drivers not in the Playoffs. So far this season, three of the four races have been won by Playoff drivers. In the last two years, a non-Playoff driver also won the season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Related posts

Leave a Reply