US Nationals Qualifying Times Set, Interesting Matchups On Tap For Monday

CLERMONT, Ind – Three days of qualifying to set the 16 driver fields for the Mello Yello NHRA Drag Racing Series ladders for the Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals are now in the books. Sunday’s final two chances are now behind us as the Top Fuel, Funny Car and Pro Stock divisions have their matchups set.

In Top Fuel, Mike Salinas capture his first No. 1 qualifier of his career with a pass of 3.756-seconds with a speed of 321.04 mph. That pass was done on Friday night and stood the rest of the weekend.

Salinas, is on the bubble of the Countdown and needs a solid showing on Monday to make his way into the postseason. He’ll face No. 16 Wayne Newby in the opening round and then if he can win will face the winner of No. 8 T.J. Zizzo and No. 9 Blake Alexander.

The other opening round matchups in the Top Fuel category are as follows –

No. 16 Wayne Newby Vs. No. 1 Mike Salinas

No. 9 Blake Alexander vs. No. 8 T.J. Zizzo

No. 13 Brittany Force vs. No. 4 Steve Torrence

No. 12 Pat Dakin vs. No. 5 Scott Palmer

No. 11 Doug Kalitta vs. No. 6 Leah Pritchett

No. 14 Terry McMillen vs. No. 3 Antron Brown

No. 10 Billy Torrence vs. No. 7 Tony Schumacher

No. 15 Richie Crampton vs. No. 2 Clay Millican

Funny Car

J.R. Todd is the defending Funny Car winner in the U.S. Nationals and now he will be the No. 1 seed for this year’s go around. Todd, secured the No. 1 qualifying position with a pass of 3.910-seconds, 325.45 mph on Friday evening. It’s also his first career No. 1 qualifier too.

Todd, is just the 19th driver in NHRA history to earn a No. 1 qualifying spot for Top Fuel and Funny Car. He last won the top spot in Top Fuel competition in 2011.

He faces Jim Campbell in the opening round on Monday.

The matchups are as follows –

No. 16 Jim Campbell vs. No. 1 J.R. Todd

No. 9 John Force vs. No. 8 Robert Hight

No. 13 Ron Capps vs. No. 4 Tommy Johnson Jr.

No. 12 Del Worsham vs. No. 5 Tim Wilkerson

No. 11 Jack Beckman vs. No. 6 Courtney Force

No. 14 Jonnie Lindberg vs. No. 3 Matt Hagan

No. 10 Cruz Pedregon vs. No. 7 Shawn Langdon

No. 15 Bob Bode vs. No. 2 Bob Tasca III

Pro Stock

This No. 1 qualifier isn’t new like the other two classes above him. Tanner Gray earned the top qualifying spot with a 6.603 second, 208.68 mph pass. That time too was set on Friday. He will face John Gaydosh in the opening round.

No. 16 John Gaydosh vs. No. 1 Tanner Gray

No. 9 Jason Line vs. No. 8 Vincent Nobile

No. 13 Fernando Cuadra vs. No. 4 Erica Enders

No. 12 Drew Skillman vs. No. 5 Chris McGaha

No. 11 Matt Hartford vs. No. 6 Deric Kramer

No. 14 Kenny Delco vs. No. 3 Bo Butner

No. 10 Alex Laughlin vs. No. 7 Jeg Coughlin Jr.

No. 15 Steve Graham vs. No. 2 Greg Anderson

Related posts

Leave a Reply