Playoff Standings Heading Into The Final Race Of The Regular Season

Sunday’s Southern 500 is now behind us as we’re down to the final race of the 2018 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series regular season. Currently, we have 10 drivers that have stamped their names into the postseason by virtue of wins scored in the first 25 races of the year. The remaining six drivers hold onto spots in the wildcard standings.

Among those wildcard drivers, four of them have now clinched a spot in the 16 driver playoff field as there are just two spots open for several drivers. 

Currently in are Kevin Harvick (7 wins), Kyle Busch (6 wins), Martin Truex Jr. (4 wins), Clint Bowyer (2 wins), Chase Elliott (1 win), Kurt Busch (1 win), Joey Logano (1 win), Brad Keselowski (1 win), Erik Jones (1 win) and Austin Dillon (1 win).

The wildcard drivers who’s have clinched are Kyle Larson (+265), Ryan Blaney (+237), Denny Hamlin (+220) and Aric Almirola (+165)

The drivers on the bubble are two Hendrick Motorsports drivers in Jimmie Johnson (+87) and Alex Bowman (+68).

The final four out right now is Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (-68), Ryan Newman (-83), Paul Menard (-93) and Daniel Suarez (-99).

Next Sunday’s 25th Running of the Brickyard 400 (2:30 p.m. ET/NBCSN/IMS Radio Network/SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) is going to set the playoff field. At this rate, unless someone on the outside looking in wins, the field is pretty much set.

Related posts

Leave a Reply