Newman To Race In Silver Crown Event At Lucas Oil Raceway On Saturday

INDIANAPOLIS – Ryan Newman will pull double duty again this weekend in Indianapolis. The Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series driver will race in Sunday’s 25th Running of the Brickyard 400 (2:30 p.m. ET/NBCSN/IMS Radio Network/SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) as well as Saturday night’s Rich Vogler Classic at the Lucas Oil Raceway over in Clermont.

Newman, will drive for Richard Childress Racing at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and the Johnny Vance/Aristocrat Products No. 2 this Saturday night in the USAC Silver Crown Champ Car Series race. It will be his second race of the season in fact. Newman, has made appearances in this race a lot recently including last year to where he started sixth but finish 18th when he exited the 100 Lap race on Lap 30 due to handling problems. 

The South Bend native was the 1999 Silver Crown champion and won this race in 2000. In NASCAR, he won the 2008 Daytona 500 as well as the 2013 Brickyard 400 too.

Per a release, the car he’s racing is a tribute car to Johnny Vance as he was the one who had a major influence on Newman. Vance, passed away in June of last year. It was Newman though who took one of his Sprint Cars to victory for the final time at Anderson Speedway in 2000.

Furthermore, Vance and Newman have several ties to USAC history.

Dave Steele, who also passed away recently in a crash down in Florida, drove that Aristrocrat car in the late 90’s. Bryan Clauson and Rich Vogler were other famous drivers in it too.

To add to that, the .686-mile Clermont track is where Vance was his final USAC race. He did so with Tracy Hines in this very same Silver Crown event at that, in July 2010. LOR is a place where Newman won his first career USAC Midget (1997) as well as his first career Silver Crown races (1999) at LOR.

LOR was the place where Newman made his first Sprint Car start for Vance in Aug. 1999. He finished second that night to Steele.

He’s not the only big star on this entry-list. The Swanson brothers, Bobby Santos, Chris Windom, Dave Darland, Jerry Coons Jr. and others are part of the race too.

Pits open at noon, with practice set for 3pm, qualifying at 6pm and racing at 7pm.  The race will be live via pay-per-view on and tape-delayed for a later airing on MAVTV.

Advance adult general admission tickets are $25.  Advance tickets for children 11 and under are $10. On the day of race, at the gate, adult general admission tickets are $25 and general admission tickets for children 11 and under are $10.  Pit passes are $35 apiece.


02 TANNER SWANSON/Kingsburg, CA (Bowman Racing)

2 RYAN NEWMAN/South Bend, IN (Johnny Vance Racing)

6 KYLE HAMILTON/Danville, IN (Klatt Enterprises)

7 (R) KYLE ROBBINS/New Castle, IN (KR Racing)

17 CHRIS WINDOM/Canton, IL (Gene Nolen Racing)

18 (R) TRAVIS WELPOTT/Pendleton, IN (Welpott Racing)

20 JERRY COONS, JR./Tucson, AZ (Gene Nolen Racing)

21 ERIC GORDON/Greenfield, IN (Armstrong Racing)

22 BOBBY SANTOS/Franklin, MA (DJ Racing)

24 (R) MIKE HAGGENBOTTOM/Levittown, PA (Haggenbottom Racing)

31 (R) DEREK BISCHAK/Angola, IN (Derek Bischak)

32 DAVE DARLAND/Lincoln, IN (Williams & Wright Racing)

39 MATT GOODNIGHT/Winchester, IN (Goodnight Racing)

40 DAVID BYRNE/Shullsburg, WI (Byrne Racing)

43 JOHN HEYDENREICH/Bloomsburg, PA (Felker/Nix Racing)

51 RUSS GAMESTER/Peru, IN (Gamester Racing)

60 (R) CODY GERHARDT/Fresno, CA (Cody Gerhardt)

63 KODY SWANSON/Kingsburg, CA (DePalma Motorsports)

80 (R) TONI BREIDINGER/Hillsborough, CA (Breidinger Racing)

81 (R) CODY GALLOGLY/Pataskala, OH (Curtis Williams)

91 JUSTIN GRANT/Ione, CA (Hemelgarn Racing)

92 (R) JIM ANDERSON/Joliet, IL (Gene Kazmark)

96 (R) AUSTIN BLAIR/Fairview Heights, IL (Blair Racing)

98 DAVEY HAMILTON, JR./Boise, ID (RPM/Fred Gormly)

Related posts

Leave a Reply