Jones Earns South Point 400 Pole (3 p.m. ET/NBCSN/PRN/SiriusXM NASCAR Radio)

For the second time of his Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series career, Erik Jones earned the Busch Pole Award. Jones, circled the 1.5-mile Las Vegas Motor Speedway with an average speed of 187.911 mph on Friday evening for his first pole for the 2018 season and first since his initial pole in Aug. 2017 at Bristol.

Jones, is arguably one of the hottest drivers in the series right now as the 22 year old enters Sunday’s South Point 400 (3 p.m. ET/NBCSN/PRN/SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) with three straight top eight finishes including a runner-up in Monday’s rain delayed Brickyard 400. He also has nine top eight finishes over his last 11 starts on the year as well in his No. 20 Toyota. 

Joey Logano was fastest in practice on Friday morning and will roll off on the front row with Jones in Sunday’s opening playoff race. Logano, turned a speed of 188.101 mph in his No. 22 Ford for the second starting spot.

Denny Hamlin (187.624 mph) will start third in his No. 11 Toyota while his Joe Gibbs Racing teammate of Kyle Busch (187.402 mph) will start alongside of him in fourth in his No. 18 Toyota.

Kevin Harvick rounded out the top five in his No. 4 Ford. He set a lap of 187.396 mph.

Overall, the top 11 spots in the starting lineup went to playoff drivers. Ryan Blaney, Chase Elliott, Kurt Busch, Alex Bowman, Martin Truex Jr. and Kyle Larson will start sixth through 11th respectively.

Other playoff drivers and their starting spots are Brad Keselowski (13th), Clint Bowyer (15th), Aric Almirola (16th), Jimmie Johnson (17th) and Austin Dillon (18th)

South Point 400 Starting Lineup

Row 1: Erik Jones, Joey Logano

Row 2: Denny Hamlin, Kyle Busch

Row 3: Kevin Harvick, Ryan Blaney

Row 4: Chase Elliott, Kurt Busch

Row 5: Alex Bowman, Martin Truex Jr.

Row 6: Kyle Larson, Jamie McMurray

Row 7: Brad Keselowski, Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

Row 8: Clint Bowyer, Aric Almirola

Row 9: Jimmie Johnson, Austin Dillon

Row 10: Daniel Suarez, Paul Menard

Row 11: William Byron R, Ryan Newman

Row 12: Trevor Bayne, Michael McDowell

Row 13: Regan Smith, Matt DiBenedetto

Row 14: David Ragan, Chris Buescher

Row 15: AJ Allmendinger, Ty Dillon

Row 16: Darrell Wallace Jr. R, Corey LaJoie

Row 17: Kyle Weatherman, Ross Chastain

Row 18: Jeffrey Earnhardt, JJ Yeley

Row 19: Landon Cassill, BJ McLeod

Row 20: Timmy Hill, Reed Sorenson

Related posts

Leave a Reply