Hamilton Earns Pole For Sunday’s Singapore Grand Prix (8 a.m. ET/ESPN 2)

Lewis Hamilton and Mercedes stole the show on Saturday as the Mercedes driver netted his 79th career Formula One pole. Hamilton, circled the Singapore track with a time of 1:36.015-seconds giving England their 200th career F1 top starting spot and the Brit’s seventh of the season.

He never was really a factor this weekend either. In the trio of practice sessions preceding qualifying this weekend, Hamilton was sixth, second and third respectively in his No. 44 Mercedes.

The Ferrari’s and Red Bull’s were the ones to watch. Sebastian Vettel was third, ninth and first respectively in practice while his teammate Kimi Raikkonen was fourth, first and second himself. Neither though qualified on the front row.

Vettel, qualified with a time of 1:36.628-seconds in his No. 5 Ferrari earning the third starting spot. Raikkonen (1:36.794-seconds) will start fifth.

Max Verstappen was second, third and sixth respectively in practice and qualified his No. 33 Red Bull Racing Renault second. The second generation driver set a time of 1:36.334-seconds. He’s yet to finish in the top five in three career tries on the street circuit.

His teammate Daniel Ricciardo was first, fourth and fifth in the three practices but only qualified his No. 3 Renault sixth. Ricciardo, has four straight podium finishes, including three consecutive runner-ups. But, he hasn’t finished on the podium on the season since his win at Monaco on May 27.

Both Force India’s make Q3 with Sergio Perez starting seventh and his teammate Esteban Ocon rolling off ninth.

We will have three different teams starting in the top three spots which should make the start of the race very interesting.

Singapore Grand Prix Starting Lineup

Row 1: Lewis Hamilton, Max Verstappen

Row 2: Sebastian Vettel, Valtteri Bottas

Row 3: Kimi Raikkonen, Daniel Ricciardo

Row 4: Sergio Perez, Romain Grosjean

Row 5: Esteban Ocon, Nico Hulkenberg

Row 6: Fernando Alonso, Carlos Sainz Jr.

Row 7: Charles Leclerc R, Marcus Ericsson

Row 8: Pierre Gasly R, Kevin Magnussen

Row 9: Brendon Hartley R, Stoffel Vandoorne

Row 10: Sergey Sirotkin R, Lance Stroll

Related posts

Leave a Reply