VeeKay Wins 5th Straight Race, Holds 54 Point Advantage Heading To Portland

MADISON, Ill – The USF2000 championship was clinched by Kyle Kirkwood at Mid-Ohio. Now, the Pro Mazda Series championship has almost been decided. Despite a doubleheader weekend next week in Portland, Rinus VeeKay will just have to maintain in the races because the championship is all but his.

VeeKay, quickly passed pole sitter Harrison Scott on the opening lap and led all 55 laps en route to his fifth consecutive win and seventh overall on the season. Due to Parker Thompson finishing sixth and VeeKay winning, he’s now holds a 54 point lead leaving the Gateway Motorsports Park. 

The Juncos Racing driver is now on the verge of earning a scholarship to move up to Indy Lights next season by virtue of his title. Thompson, hasn’t finished on the podium in the last seven races which is why he’s in the position that he’s in.

Robert Megennis brought his No. 9 Mazda home second while Scott finished third in his No. 10 Mazda. Moises de la Vara and Oliver Askew rounded out the top five of Saturday’s race on the 1.25-mile oval.

Megennis, now has four straight podium finishes on the season while Scott earned his third, third place finish over his last five starts.

Pro Mazda Results

  1.  2 VeeKay R
  2.  9 Meennis
  3. 10 Scott
  4. 12 de la Vara
  5.  3 Askew
  6. 90 Thompson
  7. 27 Soler-Obel -1
  8. 79 Malukas -1
  9. 82 Robb -1
  10. 83 Finelli -1
  11.  8 Lastochkin -2

Related posts

Leave a Reply