Larson Earns Bass Pro Shops NRA Night Race Pole (6:30 p.m. ET/NBCSN/PRN/SiriusXM NASCAR Radio)

Kyle Larson said that he allowed the “pavement” guys to run the high line in the two Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series practice sessions in order to make a second groove come in. He was tired of doing all the work by himself.

Well, Larson used that to his advantage as he sped to his first career Cup Series pole at the Bristol (Tenn) Motor Speedway on Friday evening circling the .533-mile track with a speed of 127.792 mph in the third and final round of knockout qualifying. 

It was good enough to earn Larson his seventh career Busch Pole Award, three of which coming this season in his No. 42 Chevrolet.

Chase Elliott made it an all-Chevrolet front row in qualifying his No. 9 Chevrolet second. Elliott, circled the track with a speed of 127.665 mph.

Defending race winner Kyle Busch will roll off third in his No. 18 Toyota. The Joe Gibbs Racing driver turned in a lap of 127.639 mph.

Paul Menard (127.605 mph) and rookie William Byron (127.554 mph) rounded out the top five.

Last weeks winner Kevin Harvick will start sixth in his No. 4 Ford while two of his teammates, Aric Almirola and Kurt Busch joins him up front in starting eighth and ninth respectively.

BJ McLeod was the lone DNQ for the event as with two practice sessions taking part earlier in the day, the next time the series will be on the track will be for Saturday night’s Bass Pro Shops NRA Night Race (6:30 p.m. ET/NBCSN/PRN/SiriusXM NASCAR Radio).

Bass Pro Shops NRA Night Race Starting Lineup

Row 1: Kyle Larson, Chase Elliott

Row 2: Kyle Busch, Paul Menard

Row 3: William Byron R, Kevin Harvick

Row 4: Denny Hamlin, Aric Almirola

Row 5: Kurt Busch, Ryan Blaney

Row 6: Brad Keselowski, Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

Row 7: Jimmie Johnson, Erik Jones

Row 8: David Ragan, Clint Bowyer

Row 9: Martin Truex Jr., Austin Dillon

Row 10: Joey Logano, Jamie McMurray

Row 11: Daniel Suarez, Alex Bowman

Row 12: Trevor Bayne, Ryan Newman

Row 13: AJ Allmendinger, Kasey Kahne

Row 14: Darrell Wallace Jr. R, Chris Buescher

Row 15: Matt DiBenedetto, Corey LaJoie

Row 16: Michael McDowell, Ty Dillon

Row 17: Jesse Little, JJ Yeley

Row 18: Ross Chastain, Reed Sorenson

Row 19: Timmy Hill, Gray Gaulding

Row 20: Landon Cassill, Blake Jones

Related posts

Leave a Reply