After Leaders’ Mistakes, Veekay Gets Pro Mazda Weekend Sweep In Mid-Ohio

LEXINGTON, OH – Rinus VeeKay had dominated the last three Pro Mazda Series races. The Juncos Racing driver swept both events on the streets of Toronto two weeks ago and led every lap on Saturday in race No. 1 of the doubleheader weekend at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

On Sunday, he did what champions do. 

See, VeeKay didn’t have the most dominating car at the start of Sunday’s race. He started second but saw pole sitter David Malukas jump out to an early lead. Behind him, his main rivals for this years championship Parker Thompson and his teammate Carlos Cunha made contact which forced both off course. Cunha would get a DNF in 12th and now trails VeeKay by 70 points with three races to go in the season.

Thompson, would rebound to finish sixth but he’s now 31 points down in the process.

At that point, VeeKay knew that all he had to do was just finish where he was – second. But, Malukas got off course in Turn 3 which took him out of the race and an 11th place finish. As a result of that, VeeKay skated by and led the final 18 laps en route to his fourth straight victory and second straight weekend sweep.

The championship is now his to lose. So is the Mazda Road to Indy scholarship to Indy Lights as well.

VeeKay, has brought his No. 2 Mazda to 12 top five finishes in 13 tries this year. Thompson, hasn’t had a podium in seven races as his last six results have been fourth, fourth, eighth, eighth, fifth and sixth respectively.

Robert Megennis would bring his No. 9 Mazda home in second for his third straight podium. He was third on Saturday and started third on Sunday.

Oliver Askew finished third in his No. 3 Mazda for his second podium in the last three races while Sting Ray Robb and Felipe Drugovich rounded out the top five.

The series now has a month off before the next race at Gateway on August 25.

Race No. 2 Results

  1.  2 VeeKay R
  2.  9 Megennis R
  3.  3 Askew R
  4. 82 Robb
  5. 10 Drugovich R
  6. 90 Thompson R
  7. 27 Soler-Obel R
  8.  8 Lastochkin
  9. 12 de la Vera R
  10. 78 Wright R
  11. 83 Finelli -1
  12.  1 Cunha OUT
  13. 79 Malukas R OUT
  14. 81 Gutierrez R OUT

Related posts

Leave a Reply