Penske To Start 1-2-3 As Newgarden Wins The Pole For Saturday Night’s DXC Technology 600 at Texas (8 p.m. ET/NBCSN/INDYCAR Radio Network)

FORT WORTH, TX – With how Team Penske dominated the Indianapolis 500, it comes to no surprise that they’re off to a flying start this weekend at the Texas Motor Speedway. The Penske trio will start 1-2-3 for Saturday night’s DXC Technology 600 in Texas (8 p.m. ET/NBCSN/INDYCAR Radio Network) as Josef Newgarden earned his second pole of the 2018 Verizon IndyCar Series season with a two-lap average of 220.613 mph in his No. 1 Chevrolet. This was Newgarden’s fourth career pole, half of which occurring on ovals as his last Verizon P1 Pole Award on an oval was his first career pole in Milwaukee in 2015.

He narrowly topped his teammate Simon Pagenaud who turned in a two lap average of 220.311 mph in his No. 22 Chevrolet. Newgarden, has three straight DNF’s in Texas while Pagenaud has three top four finishes in his last four starts on the 1.5-mile track. 

Will Power, the final qualifier of the day, ended up P3 in his No. 12 Chevrolet with an average run of 220.194 mph. In the last four races of the season, Power has now started third in three of them. Furthermore, he hasn’t started past sixth all year as eight of his nine starts have seen him start third or better.

In fact, the only drivers to eclipse the 220 mph barrier in qualifying were the Team Penske trio.

Robert Wickens was next best in class with an average speed of 219.561 mph in his No. 6 Honda. He was quickest in practice earlier on in the day. Sebastien Bourdais (219.302 mph) rounded out the top five in qualifying.

Tony Kanaan gave Chevy four of the top six starting spots at the popular Brazilian will be a factor tomorrow night.

DXC Technology 600 Starting Lineup

Row 1: Josef Newgarden, Simon Pagenaud

Row 2: Will Power, Robert Wickens R

Row 3: Sebastien Bourdais, Tony Kanaan

Row 4: Scott Dixon, Alexander Rossi

Row 5: Takuma Sato, Ryan Hunter-Reay

Row 6: Marco Andretti, Charlie Kimball

Row 7: Ed Jones, Ed Carpenter

Row 8: James Hinchcliffe, Zach Veach R

Row 9: Gabby Chaves, Spencer Pigot

Row 10: Matheus Leist R, Graham Rahal

Row 11: Zachary Claman DeMelo R, Max Chilton


Related posts

Leave a Reply