Kurt Busch Earns FireKeepers Casino 400 Pole (2 p.m. ET/FOX/MRN/SiriusXM NASCAR Radio)

Ford was the power to beat on Friday at the Michigan International Speedway. Six of the top seven starters for Sunday’s FireKeepers Casino 400 (2 p.m. ET/FOX/MRN/SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) are from the blue oval. The quickest though? That distinction goes to Kurt Busch. He circled the 2-mile, D-shaped oval with a speed of 203.361 mph in his No. 41 Ford for his second pole of the season and 24th of his career, tying him with Alan Kulwicki for 30th all-time.

Busch, won at Michigan in 2015 and has four straight top 12 finishes at the track.

He will be joined on the front row by Team Penske’s Brad Keselowski. The Michigan native turned a speed of 203.166 mph in his No. 2 Ford for the second starting spot. Keselowski, was third in practice earlier on in the day.

Kyle Busch will start third in his No. 18 Toyota (203.120 mph) while Kevin Harvick will start alongside in fourth. Harvick, circled the track with a speed of 202.954 mph in his No. 4 Ford. The duo in Row 2 have combined to win nine of the 14 races in 2018.

Joey Logano rounded out the top five with a lap of 202.168 mph in his No. 22 Ford.

Overall, three SHR cars wound up in the top six of the starting lineup as Busch and Harvick’s teammate Aric Almirola will start sixth. The fourth member in Clint Bowyer made the final round and starts 12th. All three Penske cars will roll off inside the top 10 as Ryan Blaney will start ninth himself giving SHR and Penske seven of the top 12 starting spots.

The top Chevy was Ryan Newman in 12th.

Two surprises not up front is Martin Truex Jr. and Kyle Larson. Truex, won the race last weekend in Pocono and dominated the race earlier this year in Fontana. He led 62 laps in this race last year and 57 more in the August race. He starts 17th though.

Larson, won the last three races at Michigan and finished second to Truex in Fontana and Pocono but he will start his No. 42 Chevrolet 26th.

FireKeepers Casino 400 Starting Lineup

Row 1: Kurt Busch, Brad Keselowski

Row 2: Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick

Row 3: Joey Logano, Aric Almirola

Row 4: Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Erik Jones

Row 5: Ryan Blaney, Denny Hamlin

Row 6: Ryan Newman, Clint Bowyer

Row 7: Chase Elliott, William Byron R

Row 8: Paul Menard, Austin Dillon

Row 9: Martin Truex Jr., Chris Buescher

Row 10: Matt Kenseth, Jimmie Johnson

Row 11: Alex Bowman, Daniel Suarez

Row 12: Michael McDowell, Jamie McMurray

Row 13: AJ Allmendinger, Kyle Larson

Row 14: David Ragan, Darrell Wallace Jr. R

Row 15: Kasey Kahne, Matt DiBenedetto

Row 16: Ty Dillon, Corey LaJoie

Row 17: Ross Chastain R, Gray Gaulding

Row 18: BJ McLeod, Landon Cassill

Row 19: DJ Kennington R, Timmy Hill

Row 20: Garrett Smithley R

Related posts

Leave a Reply