Alexander Rossi Earns Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix Race 2 Pole (3:30 p.m. ET/ABC/INDYCAR Radio Network)

BELLE ISLE, MI – Andretti Autosport completed the weekend sweep in Verizon IndyCar Series poles in Belle Isle, as Marco Andretti started first for Saturday’s first Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix race and now his teammate Alexander Rossi earned the pole for Sunday’s second 70 Lap race of the weekend on the 2.35-mile bumpy street circuit.

Rossi, circled the Detroit area track with a time of 1:33.3143-seconds in Group 2 for his third career INDYCAR pole and second of the season. Rossi, is hoping Sunday’s race ends like the other two times that he earned the Verizon P1 Pole Award because he reached victory lane in each. 

Last year, Rossi Led 32 laps from the pole in Watkins Glen en route to a dominating victory. Back in April, Rossi led 71 out of the 85 laps in Long Beach in victory too. The American started up front on Saturday and finished on the podium. Now, he has the ultimate track position.

Rossi will be joined by Robert Wickens on the front row as Wickens now has another front row start. He was on the pole for the season opener in St. Pete back in March and led a race-high 69 of 110 laps in what should have been a win. Instead, he and Rossi made contact on a restart with 2 laps-to-go and he crashed as a result.

Will Power will start third in his No. 12 Chevrolet while Ed Jones will roll off fourth in his No. 10 Honda. Jones’ Chip Ganassi Racing teammate of Scott Dixon will start fifth. Dixon, led 39 laps in victory on Saturday and is now hoping for a weekend sweep.

Eight of the top 11 starters are all Honda drivers.

The session was run in wet conditions but the race later will likely be raced in dry conditions instead. Rain fell hard on the island early this morning and ended just before qualifying started. With the new Firestone Rain tires on hand, they got their first workout and they did their job.

Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix Race 2 Starting Lineup

Row 1: Alexander Rossi, Robert Wickens R

Row 2: Will Power, Ed Jones

Row 3: Scott Dixon, James Hinchcliffe

Row 4: Zach Veach R, Simon Pagenaud

Row 5: Graham Rahal, Ryan Hunter-Reay

Row 6: Jordan King R, Marco Andretti

Row 7: Santino Ferrucci R, Gabby Chaves

Row 8: Spencer Pigot, Sebastien Bourdais

Row 9: Max Chilton, Matheus Leist R

Row 10: Josef Newgarden, Takuma Sato

Row 11: Charlie Kimball, Tony Kanaan

Row 12: Rene Binder R

Related posts

Leave a Reply