Harvick Earns Kansas Pole

Kevin Harvick is on a terror. After dominating last weekend’s race at Dover, he’s picking up where he left off in Kansas. Harvick, not only was quickest in practice on Friday, but he won the Busch Pole Award too.

Harvick, circled the 1.5-mile Kansas Speedway track with a lap of 188.811 mph in his No. 4 Ford in the third round of qualifying en route to the pole for Saturday night’s KC Masterpiece 400 (8 p.m. ET/FS1/MRN/SiriusXM NASCAR Radio). 

The Stewart-Haas Racing driver has seven top 10 finishes in his last nine starts at Kansas and won in dominating fashion on another 1.5-mile track at Atlanta and Vegas this season.

Ryan Blaney joins Harvick on the front row in his No. 12 Ford. Blaney, qualified with a speed of 187.826 mph as this is his best chance to win this year. Blaney, has three top five finishes in his last four starts in Kansas.

Kyle Busch starts third in his No. 18 Toyota (187.552 mph) while Aric Almirola who’s been fast all weekend will roll off fourth in his No. 10 Ford (187.428 mph).

Brad Keselowski rounded out the top five in the session.

Six cars didn’t pass inspection and never got to make a qualifying lap. Matt Kenseth and Clint Bowyer were among the notables. Also, Jimmie Johnson never turned a lap in the second round of qualifying and Kyle Larson spun in that round and will give up his 22nd starting spot and start in the rear.

Chevy’s as a whole are still off this weekend. The top starter is Chris Buescher in 10th.

KC Masterpiece 400 Starting Lineup

Row 1: Kevin Harvick, Ryan Blaney

Row 2: Kyle Busch, Aric Almirola

Row 3: Brad Keselowski, Denny Hamlin

Row 4: Martin Truex Jr., Kurt Busch

Row 5: Joey Logano, Chris Buescher

Row 6: Paul Menard, Erik Jones

Row 7: William Byron R, Daniel Suarez

Row 8: Ryan Newman, Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

Row 9: Chase Elliott, AJ Allmendinger

Row 10: Alex Bowman, David Ragan

Row 11: Darrell Wallace Jr. R, Kyle Larson

Row 12: Jimmie Johnson, Jamie McMurray

Row 13: Austin Dillon, Ty Dillon

Row 14: Corey LaJoie, Ross Chastain R

Row 15: Gray Gaulding, Reed Sorenson

Row 16: Landon Cassill, BJ McLeod

Row 17: Clint Bowyer, Kasey Kahne

Row 18: Matt Kenseth, Michael McDowell

Row 19: Matt DiBenedetto, Timmy Hill

Related posts

Leave a Reply