Harrison Scott Wins a Wild Pro Mazda Series Race At IMS On Friday

INDIANAPOLIS – Friday’s Pro Mazda Series race at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway was nothing short of wild. The race would see thrilling lap-by-lap action throughout and a few driver blunders to go along with that, in which turned the running order upside down.

In the end, Harrison Scott made the least amount of mistakes and took his No. 10 Mazda to victory in Friday’s race No. 1 of the Pro Mazda Royal Purple Grand Prix of Indy. Scott, would earn his second career series win, both consecutively, as he now has three straight top two finishes after finishing on the podium in both races last month at Barber. 

Pole sitter Oliver Askew would bring his No. 3 Mazda home runner-up on Friday. Despite starting on the pole and being fastest in practice on Thursday and even qualifying on the pole for Sunday’s weekend finale, Askew didn’t lead a single lap in Friday’s 25 Lap race. It was his 12th career podium in the series.

Rinus VeeKay finished third in his No. 2 Mazda for his fifth straight top five finish in as many tries in his rookie season. His Juncos Racing teammate of Carlos Cunha would come home fourth in his No. 1 Mazda.

The duo were 1-2 for the early portions of the race but after an early caution, Cunha made a mistake in the first corner and would slide down to fifth. VeeKay would get passed by David Malukas on Hulman Blvd, but Malukas was later penalized for passing outside the track limits. He’d have to not only give the lead back to VeeKay, but serve a drive through penalty too and would be forced to a seventh place finish.

VeeKay led a race-high 13 of the 25 laps, Scott led 10 himself.

Parker Thompson rounded out the top five.

Race No. 1 Results

  1. 10 Scott R
  2.  3 Askew R
  3.  2 VeeKay R
  4.  1 Cunha
  5. 90 Thompson R
  6.  8 Lastochkin
  7. 79 Malukas R
  8. 27 Laurini R
  9. 91 Serravalle R
  10. 78 Wright R
  11. 83 Finelli
  12. 81 Gutierrez R OUT
  13. 82 Robb OUT
  14.  9 Megennis R OUT

Related posts

Leave a Reply