6 Former Winners, 4 Rookies Highlight 35 Driver Entry List For 102nd Running of the Indianapolis 500

Six winners are among the 35 drivers assigned to cars entered for the 102nd Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil on Sunday, May 27 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Three-time winner Helio Castroneves (2001, 2002, 2009) and single winners Scott Dixon (2008), Tony Kanaan (2013), Ryan Hunter-Reay (2014), Alexander Rossi (2016) and Takuma Sato (2017) are the past winners aiming for another victory this year in “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing.”

The total of 35 drivers also will result in intense competition for the 33 starting spots, with bumping expected to occur for the first time since 2011 in a sign of continued growth for the “500” and the Verizon IndyCar Series.

Crown Royal Armed Forces Qualifying Weekend is scheduled for Saturday, May 19 and Sunday, May 20 on the 2.5-mile oval. Thirty-three cars will earn a spot in the starting field on Bump Day on Saturday, with their starting positions determined Sunday on Pole Day, including the thrilling Fast Nine Shootout to determine the first three rows of the starting grid.

Four drivers will compete for Sunoco Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year honors: Pietro Fittipaldi, 2017 Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires champion Kyle Kaiser, 2017 Freedom 100 winner Matheus Leist and Robert Wickens.

Fittipaldi is the grandson of two-time Indianapolis 500 winner Emerson Fittipaldi. He joins Marco Andretti, the grandson of 1969 winner Mario Andretti, as a third-generation driver attempting to add to a family’s winning legacy.

Danica Patrick will attempt to make her eighth and final start in the “500” and her first since 2011. Patrick, the top-finishing female driver in the history of the race, is retiring as a driver after this event.

Reigning race-winning team Andretti Autosport has fielded the most entries for this year’s race, with five. Team Penske, the most successful team in “500” history with 16 victories, has entered four cars.

All of the drivers will compete in the exciting new-look car for 2018, featuring a sleek universal aero kit with less downforce that has created even more exciting, competitive racing through the first four events of the 2018 Verizon IndyCar Series season.

Practice opens Tuesday, May 15.

Visit IMS.com to buy tickets and for more information about all Month of May activities at IMS.


Winners (6): Helio Castroneves, Scott Dixon, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Tony Kanaan, Alexander Rossi, Takuma Sato

Rookies (4): Pietro Fittipaldi, Kyle Kaiser, Matheus Leist, Robert Wickens

American drivers (14): Marco Andretti, Ed Carpenter, Conor Daly, JR Hildebrand, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Kyle Kaiser, Sage Karam, Charlie Kimball, Josef Newgarden, Danica Patrick, Spencer Pigot, Graham Rahal, Alexander Rossi, Zach Veach

International drivers (21):  Max Chilton, Jack Harvey, Jay Howard, Pippa Mann, Stefan Wilson – England; Helio Castroneves, Pietro Fittipaldi, Tony Kanaan, Matheus Leist – Brazil; James Davison, Will Power – Australia; James Hinchcliffe, Robert Wickens, Canada; Gabby Chaves, Carlos Munoz – Colombia; Sebastien Bourdais, Simon Pagenaud – France; Takuma Sato – Japan; Oriol Servia – Spain; Scott Dixon – New Zealand; Ed Jones – United Arab Emirates

Engines (35): Honda 19, Chevrolet 16 

1 1 Josef Newgarden Nashville, Tennessee Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet Team Penske
2 3 Helio Castroneves (W) Sao Paulo, Brazil Pennzoil Team Penske Chevrolet Team Penske
3 4 Matheus “Matt” Leist (R) Novo Hamburgo, Brazil ABC Supply AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet A.J. Foyt Enterprises
4 5 James Hinchcliffe Toronto, Canada Arrow Electronics SPM Honda Schmidt Peterson Motorsports
5 6 Robert Wickens (R) Guelph, Canada Lucas Oil SPM Honda Schmidt Peterson Motorsports
6 7 Jay Howard Basildon, England One Cure SPM Honda Schmidt Peterson Motorsports
7 9 Scott Dixon (W) Auckland, New Zealand PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing Honda Chip Ganassi Racing
8 10 Ed Jones Dubai, United Arab Emirates NTT Data Chip Ganassi Racing Honda Chip Ganassi Racing
9 12 Will Power Toowoomba, Australia Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet Team Penske
10 13 Danica Patrick Roscoe, Illinois GoDaddy Chevrolet Ed Carpenter Racing
11 14 Tony Kanaan (W) Salvador, Brazil ABC Supply AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet A.J. Foyt Enterprises
12 15 Graham Rahal New Albany, Ohio United Rentals Honda Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
13 17 Conor Daly Noblesville, Indiana United States Air Force Honda Dale Coyne Racing dba Thom Burns Racing
14 18 Sebastien Bourdais Le Mans, France Team SealMaster Honda Dale Coyne Racing with Vasser-Sullivan
15 19 Pietro Fittipaldi (R) Miami, Florida Paysafe Honda Dale Coyne Racing
16 20 Ed Carpenter Indianapolis, Indiana Ed Carpenter Racing Fuzzy’s Vodka Chevrolet Ed Carpenter Racing
17 21 Spencer Pigot Orlando, Florida Preferred Freezer Service Chevrolet Ed Carpenter Racing
18 22 Simon Pagenaud Montmorillon, France Menards Team Penske Chevrolet Team Penske
19 23 Charlie Kimball Camarillo, California Fiasp Chevrolet Carlin
20 24 Sage Karam Nazareth, Pennsylvania WIX Filters DRR Chevrolet Dreyer & Reinbold Racing
21 25 Stefan Wilson Sheffield, England Driven2SaveLives Honda Andretti Autosport
22 26 Zach Veach Stockdale, Ohio Group One Thousand One Honda Andretti Autosport
23 27 Alexander Rossi (W) Nevada City, California NAPA AUTO PARTS Honda Andretti Autosport
24 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (W) Fort Lauderdale, Florida DHL Honda Andretti Autosport
25 29 Carlos Munoz Bogota, Colombia Andretti Autosport Honda Andretti Autosport
26 30 Takuma Sato (W) Tokyo, Japan Mi-Jack / Panasonic Honda Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
27 32 Kyle Kaiser (R) Santa Clara, California NFP / Juncos Racing Chevrolet Juncos Racing
28 33 James Davison Melbourne, Australia Foyt with Byrd / Hollinger / Belardi Chevrolet Foyt with Byrd / Hollinger / Belardi
29 59 Max Chilton Reigate, England Gallagher Chevrolet Carlin
30 60 Jack Harvey Bassingham, England AutoNation / SiriusXM MSR w/SPM Honda Meyer Shank Racing with SPM
31 63 Pippa Mann Ipswich, England Dale Coyne Racing Honda Dale Coyne Racing
32 64 Oriol Servia Pals, Spain Scuderia Corsa Honda Scuderia Corsa with RLL
33 66 JR Hildebrand Sausalito, California Salesforce DRR Chevrolet Dreyer & Rainbold Racing
34 88 Gabby Chaves Bogota, Colombia Harding Group Chevrolet Harding Racing
35 98 Marco Andretti Nazareth, Pennsylvania U.S. Concrete / Curb Honda Andretti Herta Autosport with Curb-Agajanian

Related posts

Leave a Reply