What INDYCAR Drivers Or INDYCAR Ties Are Racing In This Weekend’s Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona

It’s hard to believe, but the 2018 racing season is now upon us. Two weekends ago was the unofficial start to the new racing year with the annual Chili Bowl indoor midget event in Oklahoma. This weekend, is the Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona at the Daytona International Speedway. While the Chili Bowl has turned into a NASCAR tied event, with so many current, former or future NASCAR drivers in the show, the IMSA season opener on the high banks of Daytona has turned into an INDYCAR show.

Many NASCAR drivers have a USAC background, where many INDYCAR drivers have a road/racing, sports car crazed background themselves. That’s why you see the numbers the way they are. 

Out of 50 cars that will race among three different classes this weekend in Daytona, nearly half of those will have an INDYCAR tie in. Among the 23 cars that will feature something to do with the series, 25 current or past INDYCAR drivers will take their turn around the 3.56-mile road course.

2018 Spotter Guide 

The spotter guide above will show what cars will be racing, with what driver in it, but the list below will help you single out what cars to look for. Out of those 25 drivers, six are full-time Verizon IndyCar Series participants this season (Pagenaud, Rahal, Hunter-Reay, Pigot, Bourdais, Dixon). Another is a part-timer in Helio Castroneves (Indy Only). Several drivers though are also former INDYCAR drivers or drivers that have raced the Indy 500 only (Sharp, Fittipaldi, Montoya, Alonso, Conway, Saavedra, Tung, Vautier, Briscoe, Junqueria, Pruett, Hawksworth, Bell, Legge and Allmendinger). Others, have Indy Lights or Mazda Road to Indy tie ins (Rosenqvist, O’Ward, Yacaman, DePhillippi, Rayhall). Then there’s the family connection with Austin Cindric (Tim Cindric’s son) and Eddie Cheever III (Eddie Cheever’s son).

To me, what would be really cool, is if Team Penske could win the P Class, Chip Ganassi Racing could win the GTLM class and Michael Shank Racing could win the GTD class. That would be a Verizon IndyCar Series team with a win in every class for the 24 Hours of Daytona.

Three drivers (Dixon, Bourdais and Rahal) have won the race before.

Class – P

2 Scott Sharp

5 Christian Fittipaldi

6 Juan Pablo Montoya/Simon Pagenaud

7 Helio Castroneves/Graham Rahal

10 Ryan Hunter-Reay

23 Fernando Alonso

31 Mike Conway

32 Will Owen

37 Felix Rosenqvist

38 Pato O’Ward

52 Sebastian Saavedra/Gustavo Yacaman

55 Spencer Pigot

78 Ho-Pin Tung

85 Austin Cindric

90 Tristian Vautier/Eddie Cheever III

Class – GTLM

25 Conor DePhillippi

66 Sebastien Bourdais

67 Ryan Briscoe/Scott Dixon

Class – GTD

14 Bruno Junqueria

15 Scott Pruett/Jack Hawksworth

64 Townsend Bell

69 Sean Rayhall

86 Katherine Legge/AJ Allmendinger

93 Michael Shank Owned Car

Ways To Watch

Coverage – 2 PM ET

TV – FOX, FS1, FS2

Radio – IMSA Radio

Online – IMSA TV

Timing & Scoring – https://scoring.imsa.com/

TV Schedule


5-10 PM ET FS2

10-11PM No TV

11-1AM FS1

1-8AM No TV

8-10:30AM FS2

10:30-3 PM FS1

Related posts

Leave a Reply