Denny Hamlin Earns Homestead Pole, All 4 Championship 4 Contenders In The Top 10

Homestead, Fla – Since there aren’t any stage points being awarded to the Championship 4 drivers this weekend at the Homestead-Miami Speedway, it really doesn’t matter where any of them start in Sunday’s Ford EcoBoost 400 (3 p.m. ET/NBC/MRN). It’s where they finish.

Instead, they’ll all have a good view of one another to start Sunday’s race, as all four will roll off inside of the top 10.

But, it was a non championship eligible driver who took the Coors Light Pole Award though. Denny Hamlin powered his No. 11 Toyota to the top of the speed charts in the third and final round of qualifying on Friday evening and won his second pole of the season and 26 of his Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series career. 

Hamlin circled the 1.5-mile track with a speed of 173.980 mph and did so even with scraping the wall coming off of Turn 4.

Martin Truex Jr. will start alongside as the top seed in the playoffs is the top qualifier for the final race of the season. Truex, was just 0.005-seconds slower than Hamlin, as the Furniture Row Racing driver turned a speed of 173.952 mph in his No. 78 Toyota.

A second title contender in Kyle Busch will start third in his No. 18 Toyota, turning a lap of 173.930 mph in the final round. He was just 0.004-seconds off of Truex’ lap.

Matt Kenseth is likely making his final Cup start of his career on Sunday at the South Florida track and will start fourth in his No. 20 Toyota, giving Toyota a 1-2-3-4 sweep of the starting lineup.

A third playoff challenger in Brad Keselowski qualified his No. 2 Ford fifth, while the other Ford driver in the final round of the playoffs in Kevin Harvick will start ninth in his No. 4 Ford.

Ford EcoBoost 400 Starting Lineup

Row 1: Denny Hamlin, Martin Truex Jr.

Row 2: Kyle Busch, Matt Kenseth

Row 3: Brad Keselowski, Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

Row 4: Kyle Larson, Kurt Busch

Row 5: Kevin Harvick, Daniel Suarez R

Row 6: Ryan Blaney, Trevor Bayne

Row 7: Jamie McMurray, Erik Jones

Row 8: Paul Menard, Clint Bowyer

Row 9: Austin Dillon, Chase Elliott

Row 10: Joey Logano, Aric Almirola

Row 11: Ryan Newman, Jimmie Johnson

Row 12: Michael McDowell, Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Row 13: Danica Patrick, AJ Allmendinger

Row 14: Kasey Kahne, Landon Cassill

Row 15: Chris Buescher, David Ragan

Row 16: Matt DiBenedetto, Ty Dillon R

Row 17: Cole Whitt, Corey Lajoie R

Row 18: Joey Gase, Jeffrey Earnhardt

Row 19: Reed Sorenson, David Starr

Row 20: Ray Black Jr.


Related posts

Leave a Reply