VeeKay Wins USF2000 Season Finale, Askew Wins Championship at Watkins Glen

Watkins Glen, NY – Entering this weekend, all Oliver Askew had to do was get a solid podium at Watkins Glen and the 2017 USF2000 championship would be his. That shouldn’t be too much of a task as he’s had just two finishes outside the top five all season.

Askew, earned the pole for Saturday’s season finale this morning, but his main rival for the championship in Rinus VeeKay jumped out to an early lead.

VeeKay, led Lap 1 and never looked back en route to his third career victory in his No. 21 Mazda. That’s remarkable as the 16-year old Netherlands native finished the year with nine straight podiums and 12 over his last 14 starts. 

But, he needed some help despite leading all 17 laps.

Unfortunately, he never got it.

Aksew, brought his No. 3 Mazda home second for his 10th podium of the year. That was enough to win this year’s championship as the 20 year old Florida native has won the scholarship to move up to Pro Mazda competition for 2018.

He bested VeeKay by eight points in the end, 351-343.

Askew, didn’t put much of a fight today to chase down and pass VeeKay, as all he needed to do was stave off everyone else for second. He did just that as he was a wide 8-seconds behind VeeKay at the end but also held off Calvin Ming for third.

VeeKay will certainly be a big factor for the USF2000 championship should he choose to return in 2018.

USF2000 Results

  1. 21 Veekay R
  2.  3 Askew
  3. 22 Ming
  4. 81 Frederick
  5. 79 Malukas
  6. 10 Gutierrez
  7. 11 Enders
  8. 36 Keane
  9. 23 Kohl
  10. 80 Megennis
  11.  4 Baron
  12. 31 O’Keefe
  13. 82 Denes
  14.  7 Wojcik
  15. 97 Thomaselli
  16. 90 Thompson
  17. 92 Gore
  18. 93 Clunie
  19. 37 Murray OUT
  20. 72 Holden OUT

Related posts

Leave a Reply