Telitz Wins Indy Lights Season Finale, Kaiser 2017 Champion

Watkins Glen, NY – Sunday’s Indy Lights season finale was a bit of a mess. Remnants of Hurricane Harvey wrecked havoc on the Northeast today which caused the race at Watkins Glen to be raced in the rain.

From the drop of the green flag, it was action packed. Pole sitter Colton Herta, Santi Urrutia and Aaron Telitz ran three-wide into Turn 1. Herta would lead the first two laps before Telitz got by and never looked back en route to his second career victory. 

Telitz, actually bookends the season with a win in the season opener at St. Pete and in the season finale at Watkins Glen.

He led 23 of the 25 laps on Sunday en route to the dominating win in his No. 9 Mazda. He finishes the season with nine top five finishes.

Santi Urrutia brought his No. 5 Mazda home second for his sixth podium over the last seven races.

Herta, would finish third in his No. 98 Honda for his ninth top five of his rookie season. While Matheus Leist and his teammate Nico Jamin finished fourth and fifth respectively.

Kyle Kaiser would officially win the championship as all he needed to do was just start today’s race. Unfortunately, his race got off to a rough start when he spun early on in the race. He would come out 11th and finish seventh.

We’d go to red flag conditions on Lap 18 for puddling and get back to green for a short sprint to the finish. Telitz would hold off Urrutia by 2.1807-seconds.

Indy Lights Results

  1.  9 Telitz R
  2.  5 Urrutia
  3. 98 Herta R
  4. 26 Leist R
  5. 27 Jamin R
  6. 13 Claman De Melo
  7. 18 Kaiser
  8. 31 Dapero R
  9.  2 Piedrahita
  10. 48 Norman R
  11. 22 Alberico
  12. 51 Blackstock OUT
  13. 28 Kellett OUT
  14. 11 Rickards R OUT

Related posts

Leave a Reply