Kyle Busch Earns Tales of The Turtles 400 (3 p.m. ET/NBCSN/MRN) Pole

For the fourth time of his Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series career, Kyle Busch has earned the Coors Light Pole Award at the Chicagoland Speedway. But, this pole, the 26th of his Cup career, was different than the others.

JOLIET, IL – SEPTEMBER 15: The #18 Skittles Sweet Heat Toyota, driven by Kyle Busch (not pictured), sits in the garage area during practice for the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Tales of the Turtles 400 at Chicagoland Speedway on September 15, 2017 in Joliet, Illinois. (Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images)

The first three poles at Chicagoland for Busch were due to qualifying being rained out. The last time occurred just last year. On Friday though, Busch’s pole for Sunday’s Tale of the Turtles 400 (3 p.m. ET/NBCSN/MRN) was on merit. 

The Joe Gibbs Racing driver circled around the 1.5-mile track at a speed of 187.963 mph in his No. 18 Toyota en route to the pole position for the first playoff race of the season.

Busch, will be joined on the front row by his JGR teammate of Denny Hamlin as the Virginia native turned a lap of 186.168 mph in his No. 11 Toyota.

They were both in the top three in practice earlier this afternoon too.

Martin Truex Jr. will roll his No. 78 Toyota off third as he qualified with 185.893 mph.

Kevin Harvick (185.656 mph) and Brad Keselowski (185.236 mph) rounded out the top five.

The only incident in qualifying was when rookie Erik Jones spun exiting Turn 4 in Round 2 of qualifying. Luckily, he didn’t make contact, but his team would have to change tires, meaning he will start in the back in Sunday’s race.

Tale of the Turtles 400 Starting Lineup

Row 1: Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin

Row 2: Martin Truex Jr., Kevin Harvick

Row 3: Brad Keselowski, Kyle Larson

Row 4: Joey Logano, Chase Elliott

Row 5: Austin Dillon, Matt Kenseth

Row 6: Clint Bowyer, Ryan Blaney

Row 7: Daniel Suarez R, Jimmie Johnson

Row 8: Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Ryan Newman

Row 9: Kurt Busch, Chris Buescher

Row 10: Jamie McMurray, Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Row 11: Aric Almirola, Danica Patrick

Row 12: Ty Dillon R, Erik Jones R

Row 13: Kasey Kahne, Trevor Bayne

Row 14: Landon Cassill, Paul Menard

Row 15: AJ Allmendinger, Michael McDowell

Row 16: David Ragan, Matt DiBenedetto

Row 17: Corey LaJoie R, Reed Sorenson

Row 18: Cole Whitt, Gray Gaulding R

Row 19: Jeffrey Earnhardt, Timmy Hill

Row 20: Ray Black Jr. R, Brett Moffitt

Related posts

Leave a Reply