Johnny Sauter Wins 225 at Chicagoland Speedway

Friday night was the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series regular season finale. 225 at the Chicagoland Speedway didn’t disappoint. We had two drivers vying for the 15 additional playoff points to win the regular season championship outright. They’d finish 1-3 tonight and lead 100 of the 150 laps under the lights on the 1.5-mile track.

We’d also have three drivers going for one final playoff spot too. They’d finish 4-5-6.

As you can see, the top of Friday night’s finishing order had intense battles with big playoff ramifications. 

Action during Friday night’s NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race at Chicagoland Speedway

In the end, Johnny Sauter took his No. 21 Chevrolet to victory lane for the second time of the 2017 season with winning tonight’s race. Sauter, is the defending series champion and enters this year’s playoffs with a ton of momentum nabbing his first win of his career at Chicagoland Speedway but 15th of his NASCAR Camping World Truck Series career. He broke a tie with Johnny Benson, Matt Crafton and Kevin Harvick for ninth on the all-time wins list.

Sauter, took the lead for the first time on Lap 122, and would never look back, leading the final 28 circuits en route to his eighth top three finish of the season.

Chase Briscoe would bring his No. 29 Ford home second for his third runner-up of the season (Texas/Gateway/Chicago). Briscoe, will enter the playoffs as the top wildcard as he’s had five top 10 finishes over his last six starts on the season.

He’d led twice for 18 laps on Friday night.

Christopher Bell came home third in his No. 4 Toyota, as it was enough to clinch the regular season championship over Sauter. He will receive 15 additional playoff points by virtue of that and enter the playoffs as the No. 1 seed.

Bell, has 14 top 10’s this season and 11 top six results over the last 15 races.

Pole sitter Ryan Truex finished fourth in his No. 16 Toyota for his fourth top five result in the last five races. Grant Enfinger rounded out the top five in his No. 98 Toyota for his fourth top 10 over the last six races.

Those top fives weren’t enough to get Truex or Enfinger into the final playoff spot, as Ben Rhodes finished sixth and would tie Truex for the eighth and final spot. Due to a tiebreaker, he’s in and Truex is out.

The series heads to New Hampshire next weekend (1 p.m. ET/FS1/MRN) for the first playoff race of the year. 225 Results

  1. 21 Sauter
  2. 29 Briscoe R
  3.  4 Bell
  4. 16 Truex
  5. 98 Enfinger R
  6. 27 Rhodes
  7.  8 Nemechek
  8. 18 Gragson R
  9. 33 Grala R
  10. 51 Snider
  11. 13 Coughlin R
  12. 92 Smith -1
  13. 02 Young -1
  14. 24 Haley R -1
  15. 19 Cindric R -1
  16. 88 Crafton -2
  17. 45 Fontaine -2
  18. 49 Chavous R -6
  19. 50 Reaume -7
  20. 44 Self -7
  21.  1 Anderson OUT
  22. 83 Murphy OUT
  23.  6 Benning OUT
  24. 10 Cobb OUT
  25. 15 Gaulding OUT
  26. 14 Minor OUT
  27. 74 Harmon OUT
  28.  0 Regan OUT
  29. 63 Donahue OUT
  30. 36 McLeod OUT
  31. 87 Nemechek OUT
  32. 57 Senica OUT

Related posts

Leave a Reply