Friday Night’s Passes Stand, Millican, Hight, Butner Quickest Qualifiers At Maple Grove

Like usual, Friday’s passes in the Mello Yello NHRA Drag Racing Series proved to be the quickest times of the weekend for the Nitro division of the NHRA circuit. The top qualifiers for the 33rd annual Dodge NHRA Nationals at Maple Grove Raceway all turned their quickest times on Friday.

In Funny Car, records were broken.

Robert Hight broke both ends of the Maple Grove track record with a 3.844-second (339.02 mph) pass on Friday night. That was the second fastest speed in NHRA history. He’d hold on to that pass for the rest of the weekend en route tho his sixth top seed of the season.

Hight, won last weekend in North Carolina.

Matt Hagan (3.874-seconds, 335.82 mph) was the No. 2 qualifier while defending Funny Car champion Ron Capps was the No. 3.

In Top Fuel, Clay Millican held on from his Friday pass for his fourth No. 1 qualifier of this season alone and ninth of his career. Millican, turned a 3.699-second, 327.27 mph pass on Friday.

Points leader and last weekend’s winner Doug Kalitta was No. 2, while the guy he took the points lead from in Steve Torrence was third.

In Pro Stock, Bo Butner is the No. 1 qualifier with a 6.554-second, 210.10 mph pass on Friday. It was his fourth No. 1 qualifier this season and seventh of his career. Jason Line and Tanner Gray were the second and third qualifiers respectively.

Top Fuel Ladder

No. 16 No one vs. No. 1 Clay Millican

No. 9 Richie Crampton vs. No. 8 Antron Brown

No. 12 Scott Palmer vs. No. 5 Tony Schumacher

Row 13 Wayne Newby vs. No. 4 Brittany Force

No. 11 Terry McMillen vs. No. 6 Leah Pritchett

No. 14 Terry Haddock vs. No. 3 Steve Torrence

No. 10 Shawn Landgon vs. No. 7 Dom Lagana

No. 15 Audrey Worm vs. No. 2 Doug Kalitta

Funny Car Ladder

No. 16 Mike Smith vs. No. 1 Robert Hight

No. 9 Bob Tasca III vs. No. 8 Courtney Force

No. 12 Cruz Pedregon vs. No. 5 Jack Beckman

No. 13 John Force vs. No. 4 Jonnie Lindberg

No. 11 Tommy Johnson Jr. vs. No. 6 Alexis Dejoria

No. 14 Jim Campbell vs. No. 3 Ron Capps

No. 10 Tim Wilkerson vs. No. 7 J.R. Todd

No. 15 Jeff Diehl vs. No. 2 Matt Hagan

Related posts

Leave a Reply