Santi Urrutia Wins Indy Lights Race 1 Pole for Saturday’s Race (3:35 p.m. ET)

Lexington, OH – The first Indy Lights Series race of the weekend at Mid-Ohio had its field set on Friday afternoon from the 2.258-mile road course. That session saw a few mishaps between drivers that would bring them down pit road.

But, when the dust settled on the sunny Friday afternoon, Santi Urrutia picked up where he left off here last year. Urrutia, won both poles for the doubleheader weekend at Mid-Ohio in 2016, and for the first of two races this weekend, he was back in a familiar position.

He also won both races a year ago as well.

Urruita, turned a lap around the 13-turn facility with a time of 1:11.3694-seconds in his No. 5 Mazda, earning his fourth career Indy Lights Series pole.

Rookie Colton Herta will start second in his No. 98 Mazda, turning a lap of 1:12.0283-seconds. Fellow rookie and Herta teammate Nico Jamin will start third in his No. 27 Mazda with a lap of 1:12.1561-seconds, while Shelby Blackstock (1:12.1983-seconds) and Zachary Claman De Melo (1:12.2202-seconds) rounding out the top five in starting fourth and fifth respectively.

Points leader Kyle Kaiser will start sixth.

The series will qualify for Race No. 2, which will run on Sunday at 9:10 am ET tomorrow morning. This race will run at 3:35 p.m. ET on Saturday.

Starting Lineup:

Row 1: Santi Urrutia, Colton Herta R

Row 2: Nico Jamin R, Shelby Blackstock

Row 3: Zachary Claman De Melo, Kyle Kaiser

Row 4: Aaron Telitz R, Neil Alberico

Row 5: Dalton Kellett, Ryan Norman R

Row 6: Jun Piedrahita, Matheus Leist R

Row 7: Nicolas Dapero R, Garth Rickards R

Related posts

Leave a Reply