Victor Franzoni Wins Race No. 2 of Pro Mazda Action at Mid-Ohio

Lexington, OH – The battle between Anthony Martin and Victor Franzoni for this year’s Pro Mazda championship is nothing short of amazing. The one hoisting the championship trophy at the season finale at Watkins Glen in September will get the scholarship money for an Indy Lights seat in 2018.

Victor Franzoni wins Race 2 at Mid-Ohio in Pro Mazda Competition

Right now, Franzoni now leads Martin by just points with four races to go. 

Martin, qualified his No. 8 Mazda on the pole for Saturday’s race and used that advantage to lead the first 21 laps of the race. But, Jeff Green slowed up Martin which allowed Franzoni to stalk and get by him in the 13th and final turn on Lap 22 and take the lead.

Green got off course shortly after and brought out the lone caution of the race. We’d go back green for a one lap shootout where Franzoni would prevail.

Franzoni, would hold off Martin and win his fourth race of the season, all in the last five races. He also has finished either first or second in all eight races this season.

Martin, would get his seventh podium in eight tries in 2017 as he had this race won. He entered this race just three points out of the lead and now falls a bit further back. On Friday, he led 21 of the 22 laps en route to his fourth victory of the season.

Martin, 22, is a rookie in Pro Mazda competition this year, as he won the USF2000 championship in 2016. He had seven wins, nine poles and 11 podiums in his sophomore campaign last year in the lowest ring of the MRTI. That gave him the scholarship to propel him to the next step in the Mazda Road to Indy where he’s thriving in Pro Mazda. Now, he and Franzoni, 22, are in a battle for a title to take the next step up to Indy Lights.

The series will have a third race of the weekend on Sunday morning at 10:20 am ET. After that, they have one race at Gateway next month, then two more at Watkins Glen in September to wrap the season up.


  1. 23 Franzoni
  2.  8 Martin R
  3. 81 Cunha R
  4. 82 Fischer R
  5. 80 Lastochkin R
  6. 14 Robb R
  7. 57 Kaminsky R
  8. 12 Wright R -1
  9.  2 Zavelson R -1
  10.  6 Hanratty R -1
  11. 13 Eberle -1
  12. 31 Puderbach R -1
  13. 60 Green R -2
  14.  5 Bury R -2

Related posts

Leave a Reply