Colton Herta Wins the Pole for Race 2 of Indy Lights Race Weekend at Mid-Ohio (1:20 p.m. ET)

Lexington, OH – Sunday’s Indy Lights race will see the exact front row as Saturday’s. This time, the order will be flipped.

Colton Herta wins the pole for Sunday’s Race No. 2 of the Indy Lights Series weekend at Mid-Ohio

Rookie Colton Herta earned his sixth pole of the season already, turning a lap of 1:11.1019-seconds on the 2.258-mile road course. He qualified his No. 98 Mazda second for Saturday’s race. 

He’s joined on the front row by Santi Urrutia as he circled the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course with a lap of 1:11.2261-seconds in his No. 5 Mazda. It ends a three race pole streak here for Urruita, as he started on the pole and won both races in 2016 as well as earning the pole for Race No. 1.

Rookie Nico Jamin (1:11.3945-seconds) Zachary Claman De Melo (1:11.6584-seconds) and Shelby Blackstock (1:11.7640-seconds) rounded out the top five.

The lap for Herta was quicker than Urrutia’s pole winning lap from yesterday by nearly three tenths of a second.

Points leader Kyle Kaiser will start 6th and 9th respectively, while second in points Matheus Leist will start 12th and 13th himself.

That allows Herta to be able to really close the gap as he will start second and first respectively himself.

All that’s left now for Indy Lights Series action is Race No. 1 which will run at 3:35 p.m. ET on Saturday, then race No. 2 which will run at 1:20 p.m. ET on Sunday, directly before the Honda Indy 200 Verizon IndyCar Series race.

Starting Lineup:

Row 1: Colton Herta R, Santi Urrutia

Row 2: Nico Jamin R, Zachary Claman De Melo

Row 3: Shelby Blackstock, Ryan Norman R

Row 4: Nicolas Dapero R, Juan Piedrahita

Row 5: Kyle Kaiser, Dalton Kellett

Row 6: Aaron Telitz R, Neil Alberico

Row 7: Matheus Leist R, Garth Rickards R

Related posts

Leave a Reply