Bobby Santos Holds Off Tanner Swanson For Silver Crown Triumph at Lucas Oil Raceway

BROWNSBURG, Ind – It’s not surprising that it was a Swanson vs. Santos battle for the win on Thursday night at Lucas Oil Raceway. After all, since 2011, either one of the Swanson brothers or Santos have won the USAC Silver Crown trips to the .686-mile Brownsburg oval.

Back in May, Kody Swanson held off Bobby Santos and Tanner Swanson for the win in the Carb Night Classic.

Counting Thursday night’s race at LOR, the trio of drivers have combined to lead all but 29 laps in Silver Crown action there. That’s 1,171 out of 1,200 circuits.

Thursday night didn’t disappoint.

This time, it was Santos winning the battle as he cruised to his fourth career Silver Crown victory at LOR, breaking a tie and moving him into second place on the all-time wins list, trailing just Mike Bliss and Tanner Swanson who have five wins a piece.

He led 97 of the 100 laps on Thursday.

But, Santos’ win didn’t come easy. The Massachusetts native started third and quickly move to a battle for the lead on the opening lap. He and pole sitter Tanner went side-by-side for the first three laps before Santos could put some distance between the two.

But, cautions bunched them up. So did lapped cars.

Swanson twice made it a battle, but Santos never skipped a beat and drove flawlessly holding off Tanner every time.

It appeared that he’d cruise to an easy win in the end, but with eight laps-to-go, Annie Breidinger got into the outside SAFER barrier in Turn 3 bringing out the final caution of the night. Breidinger was cruising to a top 10 in her Silver Crown debut, but unfortunately found trouble in the closing stages.

That in turn moved the lapped cars to the back and left a Santos vs. Swanson battle in the end. Santos, prevailed in the Rich Vogler/USAC Hall of Fame Classic.

Swanson, would finish second while Aaron Pierce was third.

Kody Swanson would come home fourth while Chris Windom rounded out the top five.

Windom trails Kody Swanson by 51 points heading to Toledo next weekend.

Rich Vogler/USAC Hall of Fame Classic Results:

  1. Bobby Santos
  2. Tanner Swanson
  3. 3. Aaron Pierce
  4. 4. Kody Swanson
  5. 5. Chris Windom
  6. 6. Justin Grant
  7. 7. Jerry Coons, Jr.
  8. 8. David Byrne
  9. 9. Davey Hamilton, Jr.
  10. 10. Annie Briedinger
  11. 11. Kevin Studley
  12. 12. Tyler Courtney
  13. 13. Joss Moffatt
  14. 14. Matt Goodnight
  15. 15. Patrick Lawson
  16. 16. Joe Liguori
  17. 17. Joe Axsom
  18. 18. Ryan Newman
  19. 19. Bill Rose
  20. 20. Damion Gardner
  21. 21. Shane Cottle.

Related posts

Leave a Reply