Kyle Busch Earns Cup Pole at Dover, Toyota’s Sweep Top 2 Rows

It was a Toyota lockout of the first two rows for Sunday’s Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race at the Dover International Speedway, as three Joe Gibbs Racing cars and a Furniture Row Racing entry swept qualifying spots 1-2-3-4.

Kyle Busch earned his first Coors Light Pole Award of the 2017 season, and first of his career at Dover, turning a lap of 158.954 mph in his No. 18 Toyota for his 20th career Cup pole.

The JGR driver finished second at Charlotte last weekend, and now hopes to get JGR’s first points paying win of the year as well. 

Martin Truex Jr. will share Row 1 with Busch, as the FRR driver turned a lap of 158.877 mph in his No. 78 Toyota for the second starting spot in Sunday’s AAA 400 Drive for Autism (1 p.m. ET/FS1/MRN).

Two more JGR drivers in Daniel Suarez and Matt Kenseth will share Row 2 while Kyle Larson was best in the next class in starting fifth in his No. 42 Chevrolet.

Austin Dillon, last weekend’s first-time winner in the Coca-Cola 600, was ninth-fastest in the Richard Childress Racing No. 3 Chevrolet. Jimmie Johnson, a 10-time Dover winner, qualified 14th in the Hendrick Motorsports No. 48 Chevrolet.

A handful of notable drivers will start farther back in the 39-car field after missing the 24-driver cut in the opening round of qualifying. Joey Logano will start 26th in the Team Penske No. 22 Ford. Regan Smith, a sub for the third straight week for the injured Aric Almirola, will start 30th in the Richard Petty Motorsports No. 43 Ford.

Two drivers will be making their Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series debut in Sunday’s 400-miler. Ryan Sieg is set to start 34th, and Ross Chastain will start 36th.

AAA 400 Drive for Autism Starting Lineup:

Row 1: Kyle Busch, Martin Truex Jr.

Row 2: Daniel Suarez R, Matt Kenseth

Row 3: Kyle Larson, Kurt Busch

Row 4: Erik Jones R, Brad Keselowski

Row 5: Austin Dillon, Denny Hamlin

Row 6: Dale Earnhardt Jr., Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

Row 7: Ryan Newman, Jimmie Johnson

Row 8: Ryan Blaney, Chase Elliott

Row 9: Trevor Bayne, Kevin Harvick

Row 10: Jamie McMurray, Kasey Kahne

Row 11: Ty Dillon R, Clint Bowyer

Row 12: Paul Menard, AJ Allmendinger

Row 13: Matt DiBenedetto, Joey Logano

Row 14: Landon Cassill, Michael McDowell

Row 15: Chris Buescher, Regan Smith

Row 16: Danica Patrick, Gray Gaulding R

Row 17: David Ragan, Ryan Sieg R

Row 18: Cole Whitt, Ross Chastain R

Row 19: Timmy Hill, Cody Ware R

Row 20: Jeffrey Earnhardt

Related posts

Leave a Reply