Brennan Poole Wins the Pole for Friday Night’s Coca Cola Firecracker 250 (7:30 p.m. ET/NBCSN/MRN) at Daytona

Daytona Beach, Fla – Like usual, it was a light days work so far for the NASCAR XFINITY Series drivers. The reason? Like they do on a weekly basis, both practice sessions for the race weekend occurred yesterday. Today, all they’ve had so far was qualifying to set the field for tonight’s Coca Cola Firecracker 250 (7:30 p.m. ET/NBCSN/MRN).

Brennan Poole at Daytona this weekend

In qualifying on Friday, Brennan Poole will start on the pole for the NASCAR XFINITY Series race at the Daytona International Speedway. Poole, turned a lap of 182.949 mph in his No. 48 Chevrolet en route to his first career XFINITY Series pole. 

Poole, narrowly beat hometown hero Ben Kennedy who turned a lap around the 2.5-mile high banked track with a speed of 182.793 mph in his No. 2 Chevrolet for an all Chevy front row lockout.

Last weeks winner William Byron was third quickest, while Blake Koch and another rookie in Daniel Hemric rounded out the top five in qualifying fourth and fifth respectively.

Elliott Sadler, Daniel Suarez and Joey Logano will start seventh, eighth and 10th respectively.

Some big names also didn’t make it to the final round, as Tyler Reddick (13th) Erik Jones (14th) Ty Dillon (15th) Casey Mears (23rd) and Justin Allgaier (25th) didn’t make it to the second and final round of qualifying this afternoon.

Last year, Aric Almirola came from the 23rd starting spot and won. Seven of the top nine finishers and 14 of the top 17 came from a starting spot outside the top 10. That’s good news for the drivers mentioned above this.

Coca-Cola Firecracker 250 Starting Lineup:

Row 1: Brennan Poole, Ben Kennedy

Row 2: William Byron, Blake Koch

Row 3: Daniel Hemric R, Matt Tifft R

Row 4: Elliott Sadler, Daniel Suarez

Row 5: Brendan Gaughan, Joey Logano

Row 6: Michael Annett, Ryan Reed

Row 7: Tyler Reddick, Erik Jones

Row 8: Ty Dillon, Brandon Jones

Row 9: Jeb Burton, Ryan Sieg

Row 10: Cole Custer R, Ross Chastain

Row 11: Dakoda Armstrong, Spencer Gallagher R

Row 12: Casey Mears, Scott Lagasse Jr.

Row 13: Justin Allgaier, Harrison Rhodes

Row 14: Garrett Smithley, Brandon Brown

Row 15: Chris Cockrum, Ray Black Jr.

Row 16: BJ McLeod, Josh Williams

Row 17: Mario Gosselin, Joey Gase

Row 18: Mike Harmon, Timmy Hill

Row 19: JJ Yeley, Jeremy Clements

Row 20: Mark Thompson, Jeff Green

Related posts

Leave a Reply