IndyCar To Be Represented Well In This Weekend’s Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona

There will be 55 cars, 215 total drivers competing in this weekend’s Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona. The star studded field will take to the 3.56-mile Daytona International Speedway road course for the event that will start on Saturday afternoon, and end at the same time that it started on Sunday. With that being said, despite IMSA being a NASCAR sanctioned series, the race this weekend will have an IndyCar feel.

Among those 215 drivers though, are 21 of them with IndyCar ties.

Overall, seven current full-time Verizon IndyCar Series drivers will be at Daytona this weekend competing in the Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona. Spencer Pigot and James Hinchcliffe will be competing for the win in the Prototype class with Pigot in the No. 55 Mazda entry. Hinchcliffe, will be teamed with him but not in the same car as he will pilot the No. 70 Mazda entry with Mazda Motorsports.

There weren’t originally any current IndyCar drivers in the Prototype Challenge class, but Conor Daly was a late addition in the No. 88 Starworks team. Among the 11 cars in the GT-LeMans group, three of which will field IndyCar drivers. All three of those cars are with the Ford Chip Ganassi Racing team as Sebastien Bourdais will be in the No. 66 Ford GT, Scott Dixon in the No. 67 Ford GT and Tony Kanaan in the No. 69 Ford GT.

Then, in the GT-Daytona class, two more drivers will be vying for the win there with Ryan Hunter-Reay in the No. 86 Michael Shank Racing Acura and Graham Rahal in the No. 93 MSR Acura.

So, there could be a full-time Verizon IndyCar Series driver win each class of the Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona this season.

But, there’s 14 more former IndyCar drivers in the field too.

Scott Sharp (No. 2 Tequila Patron Nissan), Christian Fittipaldi (No. 5 Mustang Sampling Racing Cadillac) and Mike Conway (No. 31 Whelen Engineering Racing Cadillac) are in the Prototype class as is RC Enerson (No. 52 PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports Ligier). That’s six of the 12 cars with IndyCar ties.

Then, two of the five cars in the Prototype Challenge will have former drivers with Buddy Rice and Gustavo Yacaman sharing duties in the No. 20 BAR1 Motorsports Oreca.

From there, one former driver joins the three current drivers with Ganassi as Ryan Briscoe will share the No. 67 seat with Dixon. Then, six more former drivers will take part in the GT-Daytona class.

Scott Pruett and Sage Karam will share a seat in the No. 14 3GT Racing Lexus with Jack Hawksworth as their teammate in the No. 15 entry. Townsend Bell will be in the No. 23 Alex Job Racing Audi with Tristian Vautier in the No. 75 SunEnergy 1 Racing Mercedes. Finally, Katherine Legge will share the No. 93 entry with Rahal in that class as well.

Overall, that’s 21 current or former IndyCar drivers in this weekend’s field split up among 17 cars.

So, this weekend will see a series owned by NASCAR on an ISC NASCAR track being dominated by IndyCar drivers.

IndyCar Rides In Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona:

Prototype (12 overall cars)

2 Scott Sharp

5 Christian Fittipaldi

31 Mike Conway

52 RC Enerson

55 Spencer Pigot

70 James Hinchcliffe


Prototype Challenge (5 overall cars)

20 Buddy Rice

20 Gustavo Yacaman

88 Conor Daly


GT-LeMans (11 overall cars)

66 Sebastien Bourdais

67 Scott Dixon

67 Ryan Briscoe

69 Tony Kanaan


GT-Daytona (27 overall cars)

14 Scott Pruett

14 Sage Karam

15 Jack Hawksworth

23 Townsend Bell

75 Tristian Vautier

86 Ryan Hunter-Reay

93 Graham Rahal

93 Katherine Legge

Related posts

Leave a Reply