Chase Briscoe Cruises to 2nd Straight ARCA Win With Victory in Iowa

NEWTON, IA – Rookie Chase Briscoe is on a roll, as the current ARCA points leader took his No. 77 Big Tine-Cunningham Motorsports Ford to victory lane for a second straight race in winning tonight’s ABC Supply Co. 150 at the Iowa Speedway.

Briscoe, ran away from pole sitter Kyle Benjamin over the final 20 laps en route to his second career win, both coming in consecutive races.

But, if not for an early race adjustment, Briscoe likely would have had to settle for a top five instead.

“We had a fourth- or fifth-place car early in the race…then I saw the guys running the top so I tried it and that’s when my car came to life,” Briscoe said.

“There was so much grip up there. Anytime I came off the top, I got really loose. The pit crew did their job and I finally figured out mine. It was awesome to get Cunningham and Big Tine two wins in a row and stretch our point lead.”

Benjamin had to settle for second while rookie Harrison Burton came home third in his first career ARCA start. Burton, is the 15-year old son of former NASCAR driver Jeff Burton, as he earned a top five as a teenage without a drivers license in his first career start in his No. 8 DEX Imaging-Morton Buildings Chevrolet.

“I learned a lot tonight, which is what we set out to do,” Burton said. “I’ve never been on a track this fast before. I learned that you really have to keep your momentum up around here.”

Benjamin led the first 41 laps from the Menards Pole before Weatherman tracked him down and made the pass for the lead on lap 42. Weatherman held the lead for 46 laps with Briscoe challenging most of the way before his encounter with the wall. With Weatherman gone as an immediate threat, Briscoe took control from there, leading 63 laps overall en route to the Casey’s General Store victory lane.

Dalton Sargeant, in the No. 55 Toyota Racing Development-Windows 10 Toyota, finished fourth with Myatt Snider trailing in fifth in the No. 22 Original Louisiana Hot Sauce Ford.

Matt Kurzejewski flirted with the lead late in the race but sustained rear-end damage on the final restart when the cars around him stacked up. Kurzejewski held on to finish sixth in the No. 52 Ansell-Menards Toyota.

Cole Custer, subbing for John Wes Townley, finished seventh in the No. 05 Jive Communications Chevrolet. Hometown favorite Mason Mitchell, in the No. 78 Karl Chevrolet, changed a battery during the race and battled back from a lap down to finish eighth, the last car on the lead lap. Josh Williams finished 10th in the No. 6 Circle Track Warehouse Chevrolet.

Just two cautions slowed the race for 16 laps, resulting in a new race record at 1:14:42/105.403 mph.

The next race for the ARCA Racing Series will be the Sioux Chief PowerPEX® 200 presented by Jive at Lucas Oil Raceway July 22.

Related posts

Leave a Reply