Lewis Hamilton Wins Canadian Grand Prix Pole

Lewis Hamilton was over two-seconds quicker than last year’s pole for the Canadian Grand Prix and nearly broke the track record in Q3 on Saturday afternoon, as the Mercedes driver earned his 53rd career Formula One pole this afternoon in earning the top spot for Sunday’s race in Montreal.

Hamilton, turned a lap of 1:12.812-seconds in his No. 44 Mercedes in the final round of qualifying as he has a good shot at winning his second straight race in Canada for the first time ever.

Hamilton, led both practice sessions on Friday and had a good run in practice this morning as he’s obviously the favorite right now.

His teammate Nico Rosberg will start second as he’s hoping he can keep Hamilton in his sights as the current points leader has had a disastrous last two races on the season.

Rosberg, has finished second in Canada the last two consecutive years, and right now, he has the second best car so far this weekend.

Sebastien Vettel who’s having his best race weekend so far this year qualified third in his No. 5 Ferrari. Vettel, has a realistic shot at winning on Sunday as he was second in the second practice session on Friday and quickest in this morning’s practice session.

Both Red Bull cars rounded out the top five in qualifying as Daniel Ricciardo will start fourth with Max Verstappen rolling off fifth tomorrow.

The session saw two incidents as Rio Haryanto got into the wall in Q1 breaking his suspension and Carlos Sainz crashing in the final turn in Q2.

In practice this morning, Kevin Magnussen crashed as well, as he didn’t make a qualifying attempt this afternoon as a result. He will start last.

Canadian Grand Prix Starting Lineup:

  1. 44 Hamilton
  2.  6 Rosberg
  3.  5 Vettel
  4.  3 Ricciardo
  5. 33 Verstappen
  6.  7 Raikkonen
  7. 77 Bottas
  8. 19 Massa
  9. 27 Hulkenberg
  10. 14 Alonso
  11. 11 Perez
  12. 22 Button
  13. 26 Kvyat
  14. 21 Gutierrez
  15.  8 Grosjean
  16. 55 Sainz
  17. 30 Palmer
  18. 94 Wehrlein
  19.  9 Ericsson
  20. 12 Nasr
  21. 88 Haryanto
  22. 20 Magnussen

Related posts

Leave a Reply