Simon Pagenaud Wins Pole for Saturday’s Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis

INDIANAPOLIS – Simon Pagenaud continues his hot streak, as the Team Penske driver earned his second straight Verizon IndyCar Series pole award and fourth of his career en route to the top starting spot for Saturday’s third annual Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis (3:30 p.m. ET/ABC/IMS Radio Network). Pagenaud, enters this weekend with a 48 point advantage over Scott Dixon in the standings, as he’s won two straight races and has four top two’s in as many starts in 2016.

Now, the Frenchman picked up at Indy where he left off at Barber, as he gave Team Penske their seventh straight IndyCar pole and eighth in their last nine races.

Pagenaud, won the inaugural Grand Prix of Indianapolis and was off to a great start a year ago before a mechanical issue brought him down to a last place finish.

Now, he’s aiming for a flop again, this time to the top in his No. 22 Menards Chevrolet.

Charlie Kimball will start alongside of Pagenaud in second, as he’s one of only two drivers to nab a top five effort in both road course races at Indy. Now, he’s got a ton of confidence as he will have his best starting spot here and be up front at the start of the 82 Lap race.

Last year’s runner-up Graham Rahal will start third while James Hinchcliffe and Josef Newgarden rounded out the top five in the Firestone Fast Six.

Overall, there were six different teams in the final round of qualifying, as tomorrow’s race appears to be wide open.

The three rounds of qualifying as a whole was bizarre as a late gaffe in the second round kept big names like Scott Dixon, Tony Kanaan, Juan Pablo Montoya and Will Power out of the Fast Six.

They were running together and slowed one another up which caused them to be eliminated. While they failed to put down a hot lap in the final seconds, others did eliminating them.

Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis Starting Lineup:

Row 1: Simon Pagenaud, Charlie Kimball

Row 2: Graham Rahal, James Hinchcliffe

Row 3: Josef Newgarden, Jack Hawksworth

Row 4: Tony Kanaan, Juan Pablo Montoya

Row 5: Scott Dixon, Sebastien Bourdais

Row 6: Mikhail Aleshin, Will Power

Row 7: Max Chilton R, Alexander Rossi R

Row 8: Helio Castroneves, Matthew Brabham R

Row 9: Ryan Hunter-Reay, J.R. Hildebrand

Row 10: Carlos Munoz, Spencer Pigot R

Row 11: Marco Andretti, Takuma Sato

Row 12: Alex Tagliani, Conor Daly R

Row 13: Gabby Chaves


Related posts

Leave a Reply