Legends Day at Indianapolis to Honor All Indy 500 Champions

INDIANAPOLIS – The Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Firestone will honor all winners of the “Greatest Spectacle in Racing” at Legends Day Honoring Champions of the 500 presented by Firestone on Saturday, May 28.

A total of 69 men, from Ray Harroun in 1911 to Juan Pablo Montoya in 2015, have won the Indianapolis 500. Twenty-eight are still alive, from 82-year-old Parnelli Jones to 35-year-old Ryan Hunter-Reay.

“On the eve of the 100th Running of the Indianapolis 500, we’re appropriately honoring everyone who has become part of racing immortality in winning the previous 99 installments,” said J. Douglas Boles, Indianapolis Motor Speedway president. “Legends Day presented by Firestone has become a great way for our fans to celebrate the race’s history and this will be one not to miss, just like the race itself.”

Living legends A.J. Foyt, Arie Luyendyk, Danny Sullivan, Al Unser, Al Unser Jr. and Bobby Unser are among those scheduled to appear as part of the Legends Day presented by Firestone activities.

Other featured events on Legends Day include the annual Public Drivers’ Meeting on pit road adjacent to the Tower Terrace grandstand, autograph sessions with the Indianapolis 500 starting field of 33 drivers and former Indy 500 drivers and an Indianapolis 500 memorabilia show. The day is capped by the third annual Legends Day presented by Firestone Concert featuring Blake Shelton.

Leading up to Legends Day, IMS.com will host a “Champions of the 500 Bracket” where fans can vote for their favorite Indy 500 legends. Sixteen drivers are featured, with two at a time facing off over a five-week period starting today.

Related posts

Leave a Reply